Fifteen nights of points racing are scheduled for this summertime at Deer Creek Speedway, together with this night’s scheduled 6 p.M. Season opener.

It will mark the twenty-fourth season opener at Deer Creek, the 18th because the Queensland family took over as promoters. And though there’s lots of time for drivers to make up for a subpar performance within the opener — the tune factors titles aren’t determined until Aug. 24 — records indicate that a terrific race on beginning night time may be a springboard to fulfillment for the duration of the season.

Auto racing

Last year, characteristic winners on beginning night time at Deer Creek covered Nate Wasmund (USRA Modifieds), Neil Eckhart (Wissota Super Stocks), Justin Froemming (Wissota Midwest Modifieds), Blake Adams (Wissota Street Stocks), and Jimmy Broszeit (USRA B-Modifieds).

Wasmund went directly to handily seize the season championship within the USRA Mods department, locking up the identity every week previous to the very last race of the 12 months and topping runner-up Josh Angst by way of 88 points inside the very last standings.

Adams joined Wasmund as a gap-night time winner and song champion final yr. Adams held a slim eleven-point lead over Nick Schwebach entering track championship night. However, Adams — who won four capabilities at Deer Creek in 2018 — pulled away inside the season finale to overcome Schwebach with the aid of 28 factors.

Eckhart nearly made it a trio of opening winners-turned song champions. He battled for the pinnacle spot within the Super Stocks standings with fellow veteran Jeff Brauer at some point of the season. Eckhart gained three times in 2018, but Brauer’s consistency became enough for him to earn his seventh track name, edging Eckhart through 10 points. Brauer is now tied with Jason Cummins for the maximum championships in Deer Creek records.

Other defending song factor champions include Jason Haugerud (Wissota Midwest Modifieds), Kylie Kath, and Jim Chisholm, who tied for the USRA B-Modifieds name.

It’s been three years because a motive force repeated as a gap-night time feature winner. Brandon Davis gained three consecutive openers within the USRA Modifieds department from 2014-sixteen. Davis is likewise the last Midwest Modified motive force to win returned-to-returned season openers, doing so in 2008-09.

Brauer additionally carried out the feat 3 years in a row in his Super Stock, from 2013-15.

A lower back-to-lower back winner on starting night time has taken place just once within the Street Stocks elegance because, in 1996, Darin Toot did it in 1996 and 1997.

The feat has no longer been executed inside the USRA B-Modifieds division, which changed into instituted as a weekly magnificence at Deer Creek in 2010. Cole Queensland is the best, more than the one-time winner on establishing night time, having won the feature in 2014 and once more in 2016.


In the latest weeks, rain and snow have forced Chateau Speedway in Lansing to push its practice session and season opener back one week.

Previous articleFerrari boosts engine in Barcelona to try to capture Mercedes
Next articleAuto Racing: Soper bounces back, two times
Abel Carl
Travel junkie. Incurable alcohol nerd. Pop culture ninja. Social media guru. Problem solver. Tv scholar. Zombie specialist. Communicator. Beer advocate.Had some great experience short selling bullwhips in West Palm Beach, FL. Spent 2002-2008 lecturing about inflatable dolls in Gainesville, FL. Spoke at an international conference about getting my feet wet with inflatable dolls in Jacksonville, FL. Garnered an industry award while training mosquito repellent in Ohio. Earned praised for my work building banjos in Gainesville, FL. Managed a small team exporting pogo sticks for farmers.